China has urged sanctions on Nine United Kingdom citizens. The citizens includes five MP’s into it. China Imposed sanctions due to spreading lies and disinformation about the country.

Know 9 People , Who Faces Sanctions.

The Group is among the most vocal critics of China in the United Kingdom. UK’s government has taken over human rights abuses against the Uighur Muslim Minority Group. This reaction by China is a counter attack to UK government.

Boris Johnson claims that “those sanctioned were “shining a light” on “gross human rights violations”. The Prime Minister tweets, ” “Freedom to speak out in opposition to abuse is fundamental and I stand firmly with them.” The Foreign secretary mentions, “if Beijing wanted to “credibly rebut” the claims it should allow UN access to Xinjiang.”

The imposed group includes former conservative leader, Sir Lain Duncan Smith, two peers, an academic and a lawyer. Sir Lain said, “I will wear the sanction as a badge”.


China has detained Uighurs at camps in the north-west region of Xinjiang. Allegations of torture, sexual abuse, and forced labor have budded up. Uighurs have denied the allegations. They mention camps are “re-education” facilities for combating terrorism.

Nine People That Faces Sanctions.

  • Tory MPs Sir Iain, Nusrat Ghani, and Tim Loughton, and peers Baroness Kennedy and Lord Alton, who are all members of the Inter-Parliamentary Alliance on China
  • Tory MPs Tom Tugendhat and Neil O’Brien, who lead the China Research Group
  • Lawyer Sir Geoffrey Nice QC, chair of the Uighur Tribunal, which is investigating atrocities against the minority group
  • Newcastle University academic Jo Smith Finley, whose research focuses on the Uighurs

Source: BBC

Image source: Getty image


Comments are closed.